A Giant Sigh of Relief

Jumpphoto © 2011 Hamad AL-Mohannna | more info (via: Wylio)
Finally, after six months of searching, I now have a job for the upcoming school year.

Ironically, in spite of a dozen applications to schools in Hong Kong, I won’t actually be teaching. This was a situation where the job kind of fell into my lap.

Here’s a brief backstory for the new reader: In November of 2010, I decided there was something new in store for me after completing school year. Many thought this was strange because teaching at ICS is a stable job, the students are among the best, and my reputation is quite stellar. What more could a person ask for?

The reasons for leaving are a bit etherial, but here’s what I know: I feel like I’ve been a little stagnant. When you’re stuck, you just need to move. Also, I think it’s healthy for teachers to take a break from time to time. A person needs outside experiences to bring into the classroom. It keeps teachers fresh, relevant, and interesting.

smile!photo © 2006 Sean Jackson | more info (via: Wylio)
Furthermore, as a Christian, I’ve spent time in prayer. The answer (though not audible) I kept getting back was that there was something different from ICS and that I needed to take a step out in faith. I’ve done that, and now I know that it was right.

Next year, I’ll be the assistant youth director at Island ECC. I’ll be working alongside Marcus Kroese and Amanda Fung, and we’ll be building relationships with kids all over Hong Kong. More specifically, I get to work with the middle school age children. I’m really looking forward to a vibrant, high-energy profession and ministry.

As a final note, I want to thank all the people that have stood by me along the way. Thank you to those that prayed for me, encouraged me, and reminded me that something great would come along.

Leave a Reply

