Too Quick to Say “Sorry!”

Have you ever said sorry without actually feeling sorry? Or you say it just to appease the other person’s anger, hoping that it will abate sooner than later? Sometimes I do this, and it really bothers me. It just pops out from time to time, and my brain doesn’t seem to catch up until later. This is most definitely one habit that I would like to break, especially since I too frequently interact and pray to God in a similar manner.

How can I be more genuine?

'July 24 - See No / Hear No / Speak No Evil' photo (c) 2006, Rob Gallop - license: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/2.0/One way I think this might be able to happen is by applying the advice of a university Spanish professor named Ochoa. She and her husband said they only had one rule for their kids: THINK. At least this is what they told me. I asked for some elaboration, and they said so many bad decisions can be avoided if one were to pause, take a moment to think about the consequences for themselves and others, and only follow through if a good outcome could be seen.

The only problem I see with applying the THINK rule is that it requires self-discipline to enable – the very thing that I am lacking so often!

Nevertheless, what I can’t do, God can. Where I come short, Jesus steps in and perseveres. When I am weak, He is strong.

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, SELF-CONTROL; against such things there is no law.” -Galatians 5:22-23

Leave a Reply

