Submitting To Authority

Romans 13:1

Let every person be subject to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and those that exist have been instituted by God.

1 Peter 5:5

Likewise, you who are younger, be subject to the elders. Clothe yourselves, all of you, with humility toward one another, for “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.”

BUT…

Acts 5:29

But Peter and the apostles answered, “We must obey God rather than men.”

I’ve been struggling to obey authority. However, it’s NOT because I don’t WANT to obey authority. I don’t have some special desire to seek the destruction of institutions, nor am I an anarchist. Rather, I have trouble obeying authority when there is a conflict of interests and a lack of respect for the person I’m supposed to submit to. I really want to see my boss lead with a spirit of humility, just as Jesus did when He washed His disciples’ feet.

But I think that’s only part of the problem.

light will shine

I know that I’m part of a human institution, and because of that there will always be conflict. I’m human. I’m sinful. Therefore, part of the problem is within me. I have some soul-searching to do in the very near future, and I hope that I can come to terms with my role and youth ministry position within my church. I need God to help heal the deep struggles in my heart.

Hopefully, a light will shine and pierce the darkness within and without…

Leave a Reply

