Transparency

Jason Young, a fellow youth worker in Hong Kong, unexpectedly came by my office today to visit and pray with the youth staff. It was wonderful for three reasons:

  1. He’s an enjoyable fellow
  2. He brought his family, which includes a wonderful wife (Julianna) a very cute baby girl (Izzy)
  3. His presence was confirmation on a thought I was having last night and today.

And what was that thought? I want to be transparent more often.

I recognize there are some things that we shouldn’t tell everyone. Like each time I have to use the toilet. Or if I find someone exceptionally unattractive. Or sharing my opinion that Justin Bieber is the most talented youth in the world’s current history (or at least until March 01). These things could either be found as rude or just might get me killed.

Anyway, transparency.

Adults and leaders tend to be closed off when it comes to sharing mistakes and opening up about struggles. In fact, my wife even called me out on it when she read my blog post about my father. She was wondering if I would’ve opened up more in my reflection if it were private. The answer is yes. And the reason I didn’t share more was because I was afraid of what people might say (even if secretly).

We’re not used to people, especially leaders of any sort, just “airing their dirty laundry in public.” It makes most of us uncomfortable. Unfortunately, if we bury issues and “sweep them under the rug” (okay, I’ve used up my quota of idioms), then growth is stifled and we become stagnant people. No person should live like that. No person can bear the weight of perfection.

'Foot Right x-ray 002 - no info' photo (c) 2006, Eric Schmuttenmaer - license: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/So I want to attempt a little more honesty and transparency. But don’t misread me. I only want to do this if it helps me grow, change, repent, and become a better man. This blog is not for bragging about my sins and mistakes. Rather, I want grantfranke.wordpress.com to be a place to witness my change throughout the year. I want to walk with God and invite anyone that cares to walk beside me. Who knows, maybe we can learn something along the way. Be gentle though, because I’m still “finding my feet.”

Leave a Reply

