Early Reflections from the 2012 SYMC

SYMC 2012.

Simply Youth Ministry Conference.

I’ve been blessed to be surrounded by so many passionate youth leaders that want to see kids grow in their relationships with God. It’s also been refreshing that the speakers and conference organizers really want people at the conference to take a step back, breath, and rest in Jesus’ arms. It’s a conference with workshops, but it’s also an opportunity to receive. This is important since, as leaders, we have a tendency to give and give and give…

I felt particularly blessed by a worship leader named Tim Timmons. I previewed a few of his songs before the conference and wasn’t particularly drawn to his music. However, it’s amazing the way your perspective about someone changes when you experience them in person and as you learn their story.

His presence on stage instantly changed my opinion. He is passionately in love with Jesus, and it’s clear that he passionately wants that love to be made known. Also, he sang a song that really spoke to my heart. It was called Child of God, and it really fits the family theme that my youth ministry in Hong Kong has steadily explored the past couple of months.

There’s no video that I’ve found, but check out the song on iTunes (album is called Sons and Daughters) and the lyrics.

The other cool aspect about Tim Timmons is that I found out he’s lived with a type of incurable cancer for the past nine years. Nine YEARS! I wouldn’t have known except for the fact that I did some research on him. Moreover, he’s pressing on and recording faith-filled and passionate music. His latest project is called Let’s Be Beautiful. I encourage you to watch the video and learn more.

I’ve really appreciated the music and worship at SYMC. I’m blessed, feel refreshed, and I’m looking forward to another full day tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

