Love Dare – Day 20

Today was another, non-tangible, indirect dare, and it was also a continuation of accepting Jesus as my Lord and Savior.

Cool and not cool.

Here are the cool things abou this:

  • I like how the authors recognize that unconditional love is rooted in Christ. In order to selflessly love on a consistent basis, it has to come from a source that is greater than my own ability to love. It’s reminding me that I can love because Christ first loved me. (1 John 4:19)
  • I also like how the authors are hopeful that non-Christians are reading the book.

On the other hand, as a committed Christian, I’d like to get back to actually doing something when I’m presented with the day’s dare. Also, I find it hard to believe that more than a handful of people reading the book are not Christian. Although over five million copies are in print, it’s published and distributed by distinctly Christian companies and promoted by distinctly Christian movies like Fireproof.

Some of my friends loved days 19 and 20. I can see where they’re coming from, but I find these last couple of dares not geared towards Christian readers, of which I believe the vast majority of readers are.

Leave a Reply

