Love Dare – Day 28

My wife went home from work sick today. We chatted briefly before she settled down to take a nap. I felt bad and decided to not bug her so she could actually rest. It turns out that though she did sleep for a little while, she struggled to stay asleep and ended up increasing her online Tetris skills!

Today was a long, but productive day at work, and I only had about an hour at home before my evening’s man-time with a friend (Aaron). Although I wanted to just sit and enjoy some down time with Kristin, today’s dare was calling my name.

Is there a need you could life from my spouse’s shoulders by doing a sacrificial act? Whether the need is big or small, purpose to do what you can to meet the need.

Instead of chilling out, I decided to take on the big stack of dishes that accumulated in our kitchen sink. Kristin and I talked a little bit while I worked, and she was able to lie down on the couch. It wasn’t a major sacrifice, but I know that Kristin was dreading the idea of doing dishes, and I was glad to help her out.

In the end I was still able to relax long enough to catch an episode of Modern Family while Kristin rested in my arms. (Cue the “Awwww!!!”)

Leave a Reply

